Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 1st, 2007

I’m kind of over myself after yesterday’s super-saccharine “life is beautiful” post. It always seems like a good idea at the time to gush like that, but I look back later and I just cringe. In this case, not that much later. Does this happen to anyone else? I hear this pretentious, sing-songy, well-isn’t-that-precious! voice in my head and I just want to hurl. Ick.

It’s a slow day at work — I left my knitting bag at home so I can’t show off last night’s finally finished socks (yay!)  but today I’ve been working on some simple instructions for the two-socks-on-one-circ that I hope to post shortly.

I’m about an eighth of the way through the Frost Flowers & Leaves edging and my wrist is starting to ache a bit, so tonight I think I might try and cast on for an entirely new project . . . or perhaps get a jump on those sweater-of-my-own-design swatches I’ve been procrastinating on. Last night, as an antidote to the intensity of The Kite Runner, I started listening to Ann Hood’s The Knitting Circle. I’ll keep you posted, but so far I like it far better than the similarly themed and structured Jane Austin Book Club. If nothing else, the reader is not as grating, so I’m looking forward to several happy knitting-and-listening hours ahead.

Read Full Post »